Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 2nd, 2008

My mom went from having a garden and growing all of our vegetable and fruit type food to cooking jazzy sauces in jars. She found this little scrumptious bit called Chicken Tonight. I’m sure you all remember the commercials. People dancing around with their arms flapping singing about having ‘Chicken Tonight’. I was embarrassed for them. Anyway, I loved eating it. And of course, as per usual, anything I find that smells good, tastes good, fits me, etc always discontinues. So naturally Chicken Tonight discontinued in the U.S.

I’ve been scouring around looking for hints of what the side of the jar says is inside so I can try to recreate it. I tried to on my own and let me tell you, it just did NOT do Chicken Tonight any sort of justice whatsoever.

I did happen to stumble across a forum, however, where people were discussing how much they missed it. And then magically a woman appeared out of the heavens and into the forum saying she had mastered what she thought tasted very much like the recipe.

So I present to you 2 solutions these heavensent women posted in regards to Chicken Tonight!

Recipe one:

SAVORY DILL CHICKEN
Source: Knorr

2 Tbsp. Bertolli ® Olive Oil
6 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (1-1/2 lbs.)
1 cup water
1 package Knorr ® Vegetable recipe mix
1/4 tsp. dried dill weed
1/2 cup sour cream

Heat olive oil in a large skillet and brown chicken, turning once, until almost thoroughly cooked, about 6 minutes.

Stir in water, Knorr ® Vegetable recipe mix and dill. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer covered, stirring sauce occasionally, until chicken is thoroughly cooked, about 5 minutes. Remove chicken to a serving platter and keep warm.

Remove skillet from heat and stir in sour cream. Spoon sauce over chicken and serve.

Recipe 2 (the closer one):

COUNTRY FRENCH CHICKEN SAUCE

1 can Cream of Mushroom Soup
1 can Cream of Celery Soup
1 package Knorr Vegetable Recipe Mix
1-1 1/2 teaspoon dried dill weed (to taste)
2 cups milk
1/2 cup Dry Vermouth or dry white wine
1/2 cup shredded carrots (optional)
6 chicken breasts
2 tablespoons cooking oil
Pepper & Salt (optional)

Combine first seven ingredients in a saucepan and simmer until carrots are soft or sauce is heated through.

Season chicken breasts with pepper and salt (optional) and brown lightly in oil.

Pour sauce over chicken breasts, cover and simmer on low until chicken is cooked through. Serve with noodles, rice, potatoes – as you did with the Chicken Tonight!

 

I haven’t made the first one, but I made the second and it was scrumptious! I did end up thickening it though with wee bits of flour stirred in very small amounts very slowly so as not to get chunky. I did not add the carrots as she recommended. I also cut the chicken into bite sized bits and browned those with oil and then added them to the sauce and cooked it all together. I cooked some rice, let it get firm, and then added the sauce on top!

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. 🙂

Read Full Post »